CA Governor Brown Takes Action to Promote Renewable Energy and Protect the Environment


It was announced over the weekend that Governor Edmund Brown, Jr. has taken action on legislation to protect California's environment and natural resources and has signed a series of bills in support.

The following bills were signed into Law on Saturday, October 8, 2011:

AB 291 by Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) – Underground storage tanks: petroleum: charges. • AB 320 by Assemblymember Jerry Hill (D-South San Francisco) – Environmental quality: California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA): determination: dispute. • AB 358 by Assemblymember Cameron Smyth (R-Santa Clarita) – Hazardous substances: underground storage tanks: releases: reports. • AB 359 by Assemblymember Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael) – Groundwater management plans. • AB 408 by Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) – Environment: hazardous substances and materials: hazardous waste transportation: paint recycling. • AB 525 by Assemblymember Richard Gordon (D-Redwood City) – Solid waste: tire recycling: architectural paint recovery program. • AB 681 by Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) – Aboveground storage tanks: funds. • AB 703 by Assemblymember Richard Gordon (D-Redwood City) – Property taxation: welfare exemption: nature resources and open-space lands. • AB 712 by Assemblymember Das G. Williams (D-Santa Barbara) – Recycling: beverage containers. • AB 849 by Assemblymember Mike Gatto (D-Burbank) – Water: use efficiency: graywater building standards. • AB 913 by Assemblymember Mike Feuer (D-Los Angeles) – Hazardous waste: source reduction: certified green business program. • AB 964 by Assemblymember Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael) – Water rights: appropriation. • AB 1027 by Assemblymember Joan Buchanan (D-Alamo) – Local publicly owned electric utilities: utility poles and support structures. • AB 1036 by Assemblymember Michael Allen (D-Santa Rosa) – Parks: regional park, park and open-space, and open-space districts: employee relations. • AB 1077 by Assemblymember Wilmer Amina Carter (D-Rialto) – State parks: Colonel Allensworth State Historic Park. • AB 1112 by Assemblymember Jared Huffman (D-San Rafael) – Oil spill prevention and administration fee: State Lands Commission. A signing message can be found here. • AB 1414 by Committee on Natural Resources – Forestry: timber harvesting. • SB 152 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) – Public lands: general leasing law: littoral landowners. • SB 170 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) – Air districts: adverse effects of air pollution: intellectual property. • SB 224 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) – Public contracts: Department of Water Resources. • SB 267 by Senator Michael Rubio (D-Bakersfield) – Water supply planning: renewable energy plants. • SB 328 by Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) – Eminent Domain Law: conservation easement. • SB 436 by Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) – Land use: mitigation lands: nonprofit organizations. • SB 454 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) –Energy efficiency standards. • SB 456 by Senator Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar) – Household hazardous waste: transportation. • SB 482 by Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) – Public beach contamination: standards: testing: closing. • SB 489 by Senator Lois Wolk (D -Davis) – Electricity: net energy metering. • SB 567 by Senator Mark DeSaulnier (D-Concord) – Recycling: plastic products. • SB 595 by Senator Lois Wolk (D -Davis) –Tidelands and submerged lands: removal of vessels. • SB 618 by Senator Lois Wolk (D -Davis) – Local government: solar-use easement. • SB 679 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) – Energy: energy conservation projects: financial assistance: local governments and public institutions. • SB 771 by Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) – California Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation Financing Authority. • SB 790 by Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco) – Electricity: community choice aggregation. • SB 836 by Senator Alex Padilla (D -Pacoima) – Renewable energy resources: cost reporting. • SB 909 by Senator Doug La Malfa (R-Butte) – Treated wood waste: disposal.

In aggregate these two measures, AB291 & AB358, provide the following to underground storage tank owners and operators in this State:

  • Extends the current 2 cent per gallon UST per gallon fee until 12/31/14 (estimates add'l $80-$100MM/FY in funding to pay cleanup claims)
  • Institutes a one year time frame on achieving closure of sites after closure has been granted
  • Establish a $10K cap for closure costs, unless additional costs are deemed warranted by SWRCB
  • Requires all local agencies (LOP's) to adhere to SWRCB decisions
  • Requires all LOP's to report into centralized electronic reporting system

Contact us or call 813-341-3650 ext 101.